class of Oct 19, 2015

5/6

Class of October 19, 2015.

Please don’t forget to hand in the translations.

Finish your work on 1984.

The grammar sheets are to be solved until November 2015. You will receive the solutions then.

Here’s a hint for you on how to use / distinguish i.e. / e.g.: http://www.wikihow.com/Sample/I.e.-and-e.g.-Usage

  1. 96 / 1c)
  2. 101

1) Trends in the global economy since the 1990s include: collapse of centrally planned economies, increasing popularity of neoliberal policies such as privatization of state-owned enterprises, cuts in social services and welfare benefits, the liberalization of labour laws, and the acceptance of globalization (e. g. cross-border mergers of companies, transfer of operations to low-wage countries).

2) In addition to the list we saw in class, you can also add synonyms and / or antonyms (for example: cut back / reduce, fire / lay off // weaken X strengthen // part-time X full-time // hire X fire // foreign X domestic // developing X industrialized).

3a+b + 4) in-class

  1. 102 / 1

– Excuse me. Have you got any others (in stock)? / You don’t happen to have this in a different colour, do you?

– I was wondering if you sell notepaper in this store? / I’m afraid I can’t see any wrapping paper here. Do you happen to sell any?

– May I have a look at that watch in that window, please? / Could you please get me one of those earrings in / from the display case?

– Excuse me, can I try this on, please?

– Excuse me. I’m looking for a bottle of champagne / whisky, but I can’t see any anywhere. Do you sell any here?

– I’m sorry but I seem to have run out of cash. Could you tell me if there’s a bank or cash dispenser nearby? / Excuse me, I need to get some cash. Could you tell me where I can find a bank or ATM, please? (ATM = automatic teller machine = Geldautomat)

– Could you help me, please? I was just wondering where I can get hold of a screwdriver.

2) bonus card = reward card, coupon = voucher. Solutions: See text (in class).

HOMEWORK:

As always: read a newspaper article, so you can report back to us.

Please prepare yourself for p. 102 / 3 – we are going to do this next time.

Prepare p. 103: read the text, get the vocab (!!), do no. 1, take down some bullet points on no. 2, do a brainstorming / mindmap for no. 3 – we are going to do no. 4 in class next time.

Please don’t forget to hand in the translations.

Finish your work on 1984.

The grammar sheets are to be solved until November 2015. You will receive the solutions then.

Leave a Reply

